Technology

Geoff Keighley says to expect ‘cool surprises and things you wouldn’t expect’ at Gamescom – Video Games Chronicle

Written by admin

Geoff Keighley [127 articles]” href=” Keighley has outlined what to expect from Opening Night Live 2022, including “some cool surprises and things I think people wouldn’t expect”.

Opening Night Live is The Game Awards [176 articles]” href=” Game Awards the producer’s regular pre-show for the German expo, which will take place in Cologne for the first time since 2019 as a personal event.

The event will start on Wednesday, August 25, with a showcase including more than 30 games, the German Games Industry Association said before.

This year, Keighley will be joined for the first time by a co-host from Germany, with GameStar’s Natascha Becker sharing the stage.

Speaking during a Twitter Spaces session on Thursday (transcribed by VGC), the journalist and presenter said that fans can expect “a significant number of new games” to be part of the presentation that takes place live from Germany.

“More than 20 games will be on stage: it will be a big spectacle,” said Keighley. “We have some very cool guests coming to Germany to join us on stage as well to reveal their games and show off new content.”

Keighley also revealed that certain games that were not ready to be seen as part of Summer Game Fest [84 articles]” href=” Game Fest will be featured on the German show.

“We have a mix of games that have already been announced as well as a fair number of new games announced.”

He added: “We’ve got some good stuff. We haven’t really announced the line-up of companies that will be there, but I think we’ve got some cool surprises and things that I think people wouldn’t expect them to be there… There are many games.We will have 2 hours of content to show you [including] gameplay clips, trailers, and announcements.

“This year is a lighter year for releases coming out later this year, so a lot of things will be about what’s coming in 2023 and beyond. But yeah, I think people are going to be hyped and I’m really excited for fans to see things and are in the room.

Geoff Keighley and Sega [504 articles]” href=” have announced that a “new look and news” about Sonic Frontiers will be part of Gamescom Opening Night Live.

Geoff Keighley says to expect 'cool surprises and things you wouldn't expect' at Gamescom

Keighley has also confirmed that the first gameplay footage of Goat Simulator 3 will be shown at the show.

Each day leading up to the event, new games that will be included in the show will be revealed on Twitter, ahead of the show on August 23rd.

Opening Night Live will begin at 10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm BST / 7:30 pm CEST with a half-hour preview, followed by the main event, which will last for two hours.

Gamescom 2022 [8 articles]” href=” 2022 is set to take place from August 24-28 and will be a hybrid event held on-site in Cologne and simultaneously online.